CEBL’s Edmonton Stingers To Play Six Games In International BCLA Competition

The Canadian Elite Basketball League (CEBL) and Board of BCL Americas announced Thursday that the 2021 CEBL champion Edmonton Stingers will represent Canada in six group stage games starting December 13 in the upcoming season of the Basketball Champions League Americas (BCLA). The full competition schedule featuring 12 teams from seven countries was also revealed.

The Stingers were assigned to Group A of the competition along with Real Estelí from Nicaragua, and Cangrejeros from Puerto Rico. They start their competition at Polideportivo Alexis Arguello in Managua, Nicaragua, where they play their first ever BCLA game against Real Estelí on December 13. They will then play Cangrejeros of Puerto Rico on December 14.

The second window of Group A will take place in January when the Stingers head to Coliseo Roberto Clemente in San Juan, Puerto Rico where they play Real Estelí on February 1 and Cangrejeros on February 2, 2022.

The third and final window will be hosted by the CEBL in Canada between March 14 – 16. Edmonton plays Cangrejeros on March 14, Real Estelí will play Cangrejeros on March 15 and the Stingers will finally end their group stage games by playing Real Estelí on March 16. More details on location and venue for this window will be announced in the coming weeks.

The top two teams from Group A will qualify for the Final 8 and play in quarterfinal matchups starting April 6. Semifinal games will take place April 7, and both the third-place game and Final will take place on April 9.

The BCLA competition features 12 teams representing seven countries across the Americas, including Quimsa, Boca Jrs and Obras from Argentina, São Paulo, Minas, and returning champion Flamengo from Brazil, Bigua, and Nacional from Uruguay, UdeC from Chile, Cangrejeros from Puerto Rico, season two runner-up Real Estelí from Nicaragua, and the Edmonton Stingers from Canada. Each of the 12 teams will host games during the group stage. 

The BCL Americas champion will earn a spot into the 2023 FIBA Intercontinental Cup. C.R. Flamengo, current champion of BCL Americas season two (2021) will play in the 2022 FIBA Intercontinental Cup. via CEBL.COM

Related articles



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share article

Latest articles